The Standing Committee of the Zonal Council has the Chief Secretaries / Administrator /member States/UTs as members joint secretary, ZCS is member Secretary of the Standing Committee.

The Secretary of the Zonal Council Concerned (One of the Chief Secretary of the member states, who holds that charge by annual rotation) is the Chairman of the Standing Committee.